i Cryptic Crossword 4125 Eccles

April 26, 2024

Difficulty rating (out out five): ⏳⏳⏳

Three egg-timers for difficulty, but five stars for enjoyment! This crossword was a pleasure to solve from beginning to end. In particular, the surface readings – so important in a good cryptic – are all very plausible, often entertaining, often full of misdirection. Just what a crossword is all about.

We have some great mental images: a queen assaulting a shopkeeper, drug-dealing clergy, a suspicious-sounding package found in a caravan, a bar with mainly mediocre spirits on sale, someone preparing bananas and custard…  I’m sure you have your own favourites. I’ve got ten clues with ticks or ☺ against them, so I won’t list them all. All done without stretching any definitions beyond recognition, with no word-play so convoluted that it was hard to unpick, and no vocabulary from the less-frequented recesses of the dictionary. There were one or two homophones or assonances, all sounding convincing to me, although I am aware that opinions differ on this most contentious of issues. All in all, a delight!

I loved the sixteen people arrested at a famous French landmark, but from among many contenders, my Clue of the Day is the simple but amusing 24d: “Deer and cow noises echo (5)”.

Here’s the link for the answers and explanations: https://www.fifteensquared.net/2020/06/10/independent-10502-eccles/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 4125 Eccles”

  1. Cornick said

    Very quick today, with great surfaces as per from Eccles – I’ll wager the hidden of 27a was also in your top 10. Never heard of 16a’s Clive Mantle before, but didn’t need to have done so in order to be able to solve and appreciate the clue.

    • Saboteur said

      Mantle (actually, “Mantle Casualty”) was my only google. The surface didn’t seem quite right, so had an inkling there might be something going on. Very satisfying.

  2. jonofwales said

    So much to like today – favourite was 11ac, though you could have picked loads. No more than 2 egg-timers, as if to prove that a puzzle doesn’t have to be difficult to be top notch.

  3. Denzo said

    Most of us appear to have awarded four for yesterday’s so I think no more than two egg timers for today. It was enjoyed more, because Eccles writes surfaces which make his clues more pleasurable to solve. I don’t know if he has a knack that some setters haven’t, or takes whatever extra time is necessary.

    There was a discussion recently about how far foreign words should be allowed in crosswords, and I wondered if Eccles was OTT in a number over ten. OST for East Germany the other day is probably OK, but if speaking of southern France, a French speaketbwill always say MIDI rather than SUD.

    • Denzo said

      stupid iPad sent my message too soon. If referring to Southern France, a French speaker will always use MIDI rather than SUD. Rant over, SUDDENLY was my favourite clue!

    • jonofwales said

      The number in question is about as far as I can get with the remnants of my schoolboy French, so it’s fair game as far as I’m concerned. 😉

  4. Borodin said

    Several clues took a while for the penny to drop but a satisfying solve nevertheless.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.