i Cryptic Crossword 687 Radian

April 23, 2013

Well, I’ve never done a Radian crossword before, so approached this with some trepidation, doubly so when I saw the theme. As it turned out, this was fairly straightforward and enjoyable, helped by the copious anagrams. There’s one I’m unsure about (20d) if anyone can help.  Now sorted…

COD? 25ac – ‘Drink’s English; root’s Chinese (7)’.

I can’t find an old Fifteensquared blog for this one, so you’ll have to make do with me. Let me know of any errors / omissions, this is a bit rushed I’m afraid.

Across

1 BRAMBLE – (Rabble)* around M
5 H Y(S)SOP<-
9 ALERTED – (lad + tree)*
10 SODA<- POP
11 STONECROP – (once)* by R in overturned POTS.
12 I’m going for MINER, though it could also be MINOR, the soundalike.
13 A(HER)N. Can he still be accurately described as Taoiseach?
14 EUPHRASIA – Sounds like YOU FRAZIER. Groans.
16 IMPATIENS – (Emins pati)*
18 FLORA – A and ROLF all reversed.
21 From DeAd TrEeS
23 RED CLOVER – LOVE for the A in CAR.
25 GINS ENG
26 CASSAVA – ASS inside A VAC, all reversed.
27 WALNUT – (lawn)* and jUsT.
28 SIAMESE – I in (sesame)*

Down

1 BRASSIA – BRASSIcA
2 A(NEM<-)ONE
3 BUTTERNUT – B + TERN inside (tutu)*
4 ELDER – Double Def.
5 HOSEPIPES – (See hippos)*
6 Hidden in harasSED UMpire
7 OR PINES
8 SPIR<- EA
14 EYEBRIGHT – (they)* over (bridge)* without the D.
15 RAFFLES I A
16 INDIGO – GO for the A in INDIA.
17 PETUNIA – (peanut)* around I.
19 OBVIATE – (e-boat)* around VI.
20 I’m guessing AUREATE, as in golden, and marigolds are golden, but that’s as far as I’ve got with this clue. Updated to note:  It’s lAUREATE, with ‘Laureate’ defined as ‘Wreathed with laurel as a mark of honour.’ Thanks to Mamyalynne and factor-fiction at the Answerbank for their help!
22 hammerSTEIN
24 DOCKS – Sounds like DOCS. My second favourite clue of the day.

Comments are closed.