i Cryptic Crossword 654 Eimi

March 15, 2013

Apologies for the lateness of this, Writinghawk appears to be MIA, so I’ll fill in. Nothing here that should have caused too many difficulties, with some very clearly flagged definitions to help where the cryptics were trickier. COD for me 23ac, with honourable mentions for 15ac, 13d and 21d.

As ever, the old blog plus clues missed.

Across

10 INTREPID – I + (printed)*
12 SPEC(IF)IES
16 C(LIEN)T
25 REL(A X)ATION

Down

5 THE BESt
6 I MP LICIT
15 PREMISES – Double Def.
21 NAEVUS – (Use van)*

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2008/02/21/independent-6661-by-eimi/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 654 Eimi”

  1. Apologies for lateness from me too – have just finished and posted my version. Interesting how we find different puzzles hard! I had a tough time on this before getting totally stuck in the bottom left.

    • jonofwales said

      I should have hung fire for a moment longer! 🙂 I wonder if I got lucky, in that I spotted some of the definitions quickly, which helped with some of the more opaque cryptics.

  2. Have just discovered your blog! We are doing this one rather late! Is the answer to 1down CANNES, and if so, why?

    • jonofwales said

      Hi! According to the old Fifteensquared blog, it is CANNES: “C (Ez.) ANNES 14 is NICE Ez. = abbrev for Ezra (Biblical priest)”. I’m afraid I can’t remember the clue now. If you’re still stuck, let me know what it is…

Comments are closed.