i Cryptic Crossword 620 Quixote

February 4, 2013

A nice straightforward start to the week, though I’m still unsure about 12ac.

Across

1 TALENT SCOUTS – (tactless unto)*
9 S(LIP) ON
10 NOSEBAND – Sounds like KNOWS BANNED.
11 HYPODERMIC – (Chirpy mode)*
12 EURO – The definition fits, but I can’t see the rest if this is correct.  See comments. A Euro is also apparently a ‘Common Wallaroo’. http://www.rootourism.com/fsheet28.htm
13 S(TAY) UP
16 TURNSPIT – Which is what you would get if you TURNed ‘tips’.
17 LEAPFROG – (Rope flag)*
19 DO(TA)GE – ‘doge n. (Historical Terms) (formerly) the chief magistrate in the republics of Venice (until 1797) and Genoa (until 1805).’
21 C(L)AN
22 CHANCEL L OR
25 V ER MOUTH
26 L(I V)ELY – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Lely
27 SIERRA NEVADA – (Invaders are)* + a

Down

2 ALL(O)Y
3 EU PHONY – Groans.
4 TENSE
5 CINEMATOGRAPHER – (the grip on camera)*
6 UNSECURED – (Curse nude)*
7 SUB(SET)S
8 UN(ER)RING
14 THE BLUES
15 PAR AC(HUT)E
18 PAN A MAS
20 TEL AVIV – VALET reversed around VI.
23 COL ON
24 sOILED

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 620 Quixote”

  1. Terry said

    A Euro is a common type of kangaroo. Not that common since I only heard of it today!

    • jonofwales said

      Many thanks! I was hoping it might be, but my (admittedly) fleeting Google search failed to find it.

  2. Cornick said

    Yup, it’s in Chambers’. Haven’t done an i so quickly in ages. It really helps when there’s a ‘write in’ along the top row. I did struggle a bit with the top right corner though; euro, turnspit and subsets had me stuck until I got to a dictionary.

Comments are closed.