i Cryptic Crossword 2111 Quixote

November 13, 2017

The Don’s back with a crossword that I found to be three quarters pretty straightforward – albeit with a big unknown at 8d – before I ground to a halt in the SE corner. I was pretty sure about 23ac, but couldn’t see 21d / 27ac / 24d. The answer? Ignore it for a good while, go back, and promptly get all three instantly. If I had to offer one solving tip, that would be it, as the number of times it has worked. All in all an enjoyable start to the week.

At the risk of revealing that I “don’t know a bad clue from a good one” (see the fairly heated discussion over on the other side”, I’m nominating 22ac for COD – “Originator of dreadful wickedness? (5)”.

Here’s the original blog from 2013, in case you’re stuck, can’t parse anything, or curious about the aforementioned discussion:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/07/15/independent-8346quixote/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2111 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    Crikey, what went on there? Glad we don’t see spats like that here. Bertandjoyce’s response is spot on, as is often the case.

    A pleasant Monday crossword with just the one little holdup whilst the cogs whirred before 19ac came to mind. All very enjoyable, and as a bonus my paper came without staples today.

  2. sprouthater said

    Well at the risk of offending somebody I thought 21d was dreadful. Got stuck on the same four as Jon, knew 24dn but couldn’t parse it, Hay = Dance can’t find that in Chambers. I did however think both 18dn and 20dn excellent.

    • AndyT said

      There’s a moderately famous orchestral hay: title and composer are refusing to come to mind but there’s a nagging voice telling me to say Percy Grainger. Could well be that it’s “hey” in the title: that’s where you’ll find it in Chambers. Think bucolic dancing: lusty swains, rosy-cheeked dairymaids and all that. There’s also Aldous Huxley’s “Antic Hay” – same sense. Agreed on that blasted Spoonerism. :-/

      • sprouthater said

        That explains it then. Luckily I have never been exposed to bucolic dancing perhaps if the dairymaids had been lusty rather than the swains l may have exposed myself😀

  3. Harder than the usual Monday offerings. I expect Mondays to be a gentle introduction to the week. I struggled with new words in the top right (pormanetto anyone?), and with 21d and 24d.

  4. dtw42 said

    Phew; glad it wasn’t just me. I sailed through until I reached 21, 23, 24 and 27, none of which I could do. Seeing the answers in today’s, I still didn’t understand 23 and had to come here to seek clarification from the fifteensquared blog. 21 and 24 are a tad obscure for my liking, and I am usually less than gruntled when setters blithely reference an “actress” or “actor” or “singer” or whatnot – there’s such a huuuuge pool of possibles to draw from. Hey ho. On to today’s…

  5. Cornick said

    Same 4 at the end for me – gave up/ defeated by.
    Re the thankfully unusual row on the other side, I was once on the receiving end of an attack from one of the combatants, JollySwagman on Big Dave’s site, but I’m glad to say it never quite escalated like that!

Leave a Reply

