i Cryptic Crossword 2109 Crosophile

November 10, 2017

A fairly gentle puzzle from Crosophile to end the working week, one that I think would be suitable for both beginners and the more experienced solver. Four fifteen letter entries around the perimeter certainly helped and it was only 26ac that couldn’t really be solved from the synonym part of the clue but once a few checking letters were in it was nicely solvable as with many today all the components of the answer were there in the clue and just needed sorting like a construction kit 1ac, 3dn and 15dn being excellent examples of this. It was only the NW corner that gave me any problem. 20ac held me up , it was the “old” that threw me, is Nigh now considered old? and 21dn eluded me for a while but the only one I couldn’t really see was 24ac where Liner = Coat seems a bit of a stretch.

Plenty of nice clues today even the alluded to bad language at 11ac and 16ac got a “I didn’t know that smile” but

COD 1dn  “All dreams come true ” (wink) – Henry’s insightful that’s false (7,8)

Click here for the Fifteensquared blog.

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2109 Crosophile”

  1. jonofwales said

    I thought this was reasonably straightforward with a little sting in the tail to ensure it wasn’t over too soon. I had no idea what the offensive text might be, and 6d was a sort of guess, because I got the definition bit wrong.

    I didn’t like 22d – “this” is there purely for the surface reading, surely, and messes up the “To some extent”… Shouldn’t the hidden word begin in “this”? Or am I missing something obvious?

    Pleased to get 18ac and 3d from the wordplay.

    Last in 26ac, which was a new one on me.

  2. Cornick said

    Crosophile wasn’t always my cup of tea exactly, but he just goes on getting better and better – I thought this was terrific, with flair aplenty in nearly all the clues.
    I think you’re right, Jon, regarding the hidden in 22d, but it didn’t bother me personally. Finished on the slightly dodgy 24a/21d intersect.

  3. AndyT said

    Sorry to break ranks, but this didn’t go down too well with me. It seemed rather – how to put this? – undergraduate … as in verbose and smart-alecky. Possibly I’m feeling jaded having spent the day waiting in for tradesmen, during which time I’ve consumed two old Times puzzles, plus today’s Guardian, Independent and half a Mephisto. I do agree with Cornick that Crosophile has been getting better and better, but this seemed like a retrograde step. Last ones in were 24 and 21 again: glad that someone else thinks that was a shaky pair.

  4. I struggled. New words of the day: a bone in the inner ear, and American children born to Japanese children.

  5. Ooops… that was “to Japanese parents”.

  6. Jimbo said

    I too struggled with the 21/24 combo. Eventually pulled 24 from my memory and then knew what 21 must be but I wasn’t too keen on the cryptic definition. Not heard of the Job phrase before so ended up pattern matching that one. For a while, I wanted to put COMPOSTER in but it obviously wasn’t right.

    Overall, a fun solve though.

Leave a Reply

