i Cryptic Crossword 2107 Dac

November 8, 2017

Dac returns to the i with the usual soundly clued, easyish mid-week puzzle. Both 8d and 25d were new to me, but perfectly gettable from the wordplay. 12ac, my LOI, confused me for an age before I realised that I’d made a hash of writing 2d. That’s what comes of trying to go too fast. Finish time closer to an IoS reprint than the end of week toughies that are no doubt coming our way.

COD? 2d – “Companion entertained by a bawdy chap (9)”, though there were at least half a dozen others that could easily have been contenders.

To July 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/07/17/independent-8348-dac/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2107 Dac”

  1. AndyT said

    Very good indeed, and a little trickier than I expected. As you say, plenty of excellent clues today: a toss up between your choice and 14d for COD for my money.

  2. sprouthater said

    Not too difficult even though I had no idea what 1ac was about, old films and old film directors not registering very high on my list of interests. Rooter and Ute both got tut but I particularly liked 23dn.

  3. I found this easier than yesterday’s. Glad that 4d didn’t mention shoes or bags.

Leave a Reply

