i Cryptic Crossword 2106 Phi

November 7, 2017

It feels like I’m trespassing on friend Cornick’s territory today. Appearances by Phi are always welcome, of course; perhaps this means that another compiler will be taking the Saturday spot this weekend? Unsurprisingly we have a puzzle with a theme this time, telegraphed as much by 12ac as the pair of entries across the bottom.

Taking a leaf out of Mark Goodliffe’s book I decided to write my solutions in straight away and check later, the opposite of my usual practice – and there were a couple of iffy (but correct) ones. Be warned: 21d is not to be found in Chambers under the expected head, but solvers will obtain confirmation if they have a look at “orange”. My thanks to Bertandjoyce for pointing that out in their June 2013 Fifteensquared blog – I just went to the OED.

Features of note: some may object to 10ac on the grounds that the required word ain’t a train. Fair comment. There’s also that “disconcerted” in 18ac, which struck me as rather rum at first but on reflection is okay. 19ac was an eyebrow raiser too. Stand-outs for me included 10, 14 and 23ac, and 4 and 16d. COD by a short head is the very Phi-ish 15d:

“Sculpture, when right, captures religious stance? On the contrary (3-6)”

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2106 Phi”

  1. sprouthater said

    I’m with K’s D and Cumbrian on this one, well and truly in the grumpy camp.

  2. dtw42 said

    Well, for once I got the key solutions (in this case 28 and then 27) early on, so at least knew what we were looking for. Most of it was pretty smooth, but there were a few obscurities that – for me, at least – needed a word-finder.

  3. Brakewynde said

    What’s the problem with 10ac? As a verb coach = train.
    Not at all grumpy!

  4. jonofwales said

    I enjoyed this, and didn’t find it as difficult as I do Phi on a Saturday. Perhaps I’m more awake Tuesday lunchtime. The gateway clues fell quickly enough, which no doubt helped. A number of question marks at the close, and I failed miserably on 21d, making a wild guess at MORGAY. I’ll accept Phi’s apology in the comments over on the other side. 🙂

  5. Cornick said

    Extremely grumpy here. Not because Andy’s blogging ‘my’ setter, nor because of the clues I did – about half – which were all excellent, but because after my morning break I somehow conspired to LOSE MY PAPER. This is a tragedy of epic proportions, which I relay with a heavy heart.

  6. Jimbo said

    In the grumpy camp here. The gateway clues were too hard and the related clues gave no additional help. I abandoned this after only a few clues as it didn’t seem worth the effort.

    I normally enjoy a tussle with Phi but not this time.

  7. I did enjoy what I could finish. Some new words today: I had never heard of the three fishes at 4a, 13a and of course 21d.

Leave a Reply

