Phi Prize Cryptic Crossword 2098 by Phi

November 4, 2017

Saturday 28th October 2017

Excellent puzzle from Phi last Saturday. All four fifteen letter entries went in at the get-go – three anagrams and a gimme ‘straight cryptic’ which started with the old chestnut ‘Nice’, but there was plenty of pencil chewing thereafter.

A couple of question marks – bottom for stamina and id for fish, a beast I’ve only met with its alternative spelling of ide before now, and even then only in crosswords – but all perfectly within the rules. I notice that Carmathen still hasn’t been corrected four years on from the original publication, although my spellcheck does suggest that missing ‘r’. Progress of a sort, and I wonder if JonofWales spotted that? Also noteworthy is the well-clued ‘First world problem’ which, although something of a cliché in 2017, I’m guessing was fairly cutting edge four years ago.

2013 blog here.

And my COD amongst strong competition was the geographical 14d:

Country without energy surrounding country without leader? That’s fanciful (10)

2 Responses to “Phi Prize Cryptic Crossword 2098 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, all very good … well nearly all. I have a “Bah” next to 24ac on account of that bottom. Agreed on the COD which seemed like a clear winner to me. Strange about Carmarthen: must admit to not noticing that.

  2. jonofwales said

    Funny the tricks the mind plays – I completely failed to spot the typo. Oftentimes you see what you expect to see. I have a habit of misreading County for Country in crosswords, and getting myself in a pickle.

    I struggled a little with this puzzle, especially in the SE corner, but then again I didn’t really have time to sit down and get into it properly.

Leave a Reply

