i Cryptic Crossword 2090 Kairos

October 19, 2017

Pierre over on Fifteensquared found this to be quite difficult, and at first sight I did too, struggling to make inroads into the grid. I put it to one side, had lunch, and then promptly flew through the rest of the puzzle, so make of that what you will. One or two obscurities too many for my liking – DO for Ditto, PRO for Tom – but the rest was fair, though I never felt I was entirely on the settter’s wavelength.

COD? A very simple clue, but nicely spotted I thought, and a nice surface reading, 11ac – “Met over a drink (5)”.

To June 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/06/30/independent-on-sunday-121823-june-2013kairos/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2090 Kairos”

  1. dtw42 said

    I was the other way around: sped through about the first 45% of it (some nice simple anagrams, a reversed-hidden, etc.) then found the rest quite chewy in places, and had to word-finder the last couple.
    PRO = TOM is a usage I haven’t heard since they took The Bill off the air.

  2. Cornick said

    Faltering progress here, but excellent clues aplenty – indeed 8d was probably my favourite.
    Wish I’d seen the wordplay in 9a, another nice touch.
    For some reason the unknown words like toft, res, aspic and Tom didn’t interfere with solving enjoyment too much today.

  3. AndyT said

    My experience was akin to dtw42’s, winding up with 3d. No idea what Kairos was thinking with that one: it sticks out like a sore thumb. Otherwise no complaints and quite a bit of fun today. Tom has come up in recent weeks I think: there was some discussion.

  4. sprouthater said

    Similar to dtw42 with the good start and slow finish but the obscurities rather spoiled it for me.

Comments are closed.

