i Cryptic Crossword 2089 Dac

October 18, 2017

So, belated congratulations to Dac on his 500th puzzle. Did I notice the Nina? No, but at least it explains the comparatively more difficult top half of the grid. Or perhaps that was just down to the smashing 5 hours sleep I had last night. Picking an alternative spelling of 5d also didn’t help. Or Berkshire villages being somewhat of a mystery in these parts.

Anyway, a fantastic puzzle as ever, with surface readings that are as smooth as you could want. COD? Too many to choose from, but I’ll go with  24ac – “I’d feel nervous before opening contest (5,5)”.

To July 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/07/03/independent-8336-dac/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2089 Dac”

  1. AndyT said

    Oh yes, a Nina. Shame I hadn’t come across that spelling of 5d and pluralised it … but jolly well done with the five sundred puzzles, Dac. He’s probably up to 700 or so now. No problem with the Berkshire village, but 15ac showed up a gaping hole in my general knowledge, alas, and had to be extracted the hard way from the Big Red Book. Excellent crossword; highly enjoyable.

  2. dtw42 said

    Right … nina? Nope, missed that. 5dn? Yup, got the right spelling for that. 11ac? Well, I live pretty close in neighbouring Hampshire but had not heard of that so had to resort to Wikipedia’s “List of places in Berkshire”. 15ac? Nope, that was too obscure for me and also had to be picked from the results of a wordfinder.

    Everything else? Very pleasant, my COD being 21dn, which raised a smile.

  3. Cornick said

    Those three obscurities are thoroughly forgivable to help provide a well-deserved Nina ( which I didn’t spot either) in an excellent puzzle from the staggeringly, consistently excellent Mr Dac.

  4. 15a was also my last in and an unknown. Started quickly but ground to a halt in the NW.

Comments are closed.

