i Cryptic Crossword 2085 Klingsor

October 13, 2017

Todays puzzle is a reprint of a Saturday prize puzzle from June 2013 and I for one found it very difficult although in hindsight there is only 27ac that was new to me as both a definition and as a cheese and 9ac was only solved once all the crossing letters were in as “Wagner Lover” meant nothing to me. After reading all the across clues I had only solved with any certainty 15 and 25 with a few others penciled in lightly as I couldn’t fully parse them, luckily the first few of the down clues were all quite gettable even if I did have to look up Medick. It was the NW corner that was last to fall with 23ac only going in after taking a punt at 23dn , “vital structure” being a bit vague I thought, then resorting to a wordfinder for 27ac. On completion I had plenty of ticks among them were 5ac, 24ac, 5dn and 16dn but for its clever misdirection

COD      18ac   A head’s no time to take class (4)

The original blog and all the parsing can be found  here at Fifteensquared

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2085 Klingsor”

  1. jonofwales said

    A good puzzle, but an extremely tough one. The four corners of the grid were a little isolated, which didn’t help matters. We seem to have settled into a pattern of getting old prize puzzles on a Friday once more, which is Ok when you’ve got the time.

    I had to lookup Black Medick as well, otherwise I’m not sure I would have got it. Wondered for a long time why STARSKY was a prime mover, in common with someone in the comments over on the other side.

  2. Cornick said

    A mixed bag. Some fabulous, some fine, some fiendish, some failures (anyone else go for c-hat-ter at 12a?) and a lingering sense that I must get some glasses… but I’m okay with the rest of paper!

  3. AndyT said

    Loved it. I was convinced that yesterday’s eXternal would be easily the best puzzle week, but it’s a tie. My personal favourite was 23ac, a little gem.

  4. dtw42 said

    Klingsor does not float my boat.
    Klingsor kinda gets my goat.
    I do not like his sort of thing.
    I do not like him in the spring,
    I do not like him in the fall.
    I do not like Klingsor at all.

    (Okay, I had a very very busy day at work and did not get a chance to even look at this until 7pm. But given that I have spent the last half hour chewing my pencil and have put in five answers, I’m giving up as I’ve got better things to do with my evening. Sorry.)

Comments are closed.

