i Cryptic Crossword 2067 Nestor

September 22, 2017

A fairly tough but enjoyable puzzle with only the single obscurity (for me) all the other answers being familiar words or phrases. The three long anagrams helped to get started and give some checking letters to help with the more devious clues.  15dn was my obscurity but the once 2dn was solved the wordplay and a check on Google cracked it. The couple of clues that required a bit of French didn’t present too much of a problem but 16ac with its hidden German was I thought a bit unfair and 14ac well I don’t understand Rap so that got a grunt of disapproval as did the Thatcherite = Dry at 20dn.  Quite a lot of ticks though with the most going to

COD  6ac Stuffed geese I adapt for …? (4,2,4,4)

Blog from May 2013  is HERE

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2067 Nestor”

  1. AndyT said

    My only complaint today is that it didn’t last long enough. Capital puzzle, my favourite this week.

  2. dtw42 said

    Took me quite a while (finished just before noon). I think 16ac was my LOI – okay now I see that “Stern’s article” = Der but, yuck, I didn’t understand that at the time. The reference at 20dn was too obscure for me too. When the penny dropped re “Unfair” in 5dn, I wrote “ouch” alongside that: very sneaky.

    But yeah, there were some very good clues too; 8dn was jolly clever, I thought.

  3. jonofwales said

    Ending the working week on a most definitely tough note. The RHS fell in what would have been a reasonable time for the puzzle as a whole, and the rest took an absolute age again. All good stuff, if perhaps too much for my brain to handle at this end of the week. 🙂

  4. Too tough for me. I’m a Monday person rather than a Man Friday?

  5. Cornick said

    Mostly joyously brilliant, but some – especially the NE corner – that took me so long that I wished I’d either been less tired or, frankly, better at crosswords!

Comments are closed.

