i Cryptic Crossword 2066 Crosophile

September 21, 2017

An IoS reprint today, but anyone back in 2013 expecting the usual gentle Sunday puzzle would have been in for a bit of a shock. An enjoyable shock, mind you, but these were clues that needed a little unpicking, and more than the usual bit of lateral thinking. There’s a Nina, that I spotted, which helped no end with my LOI, 6d. Apparently it’s a line from Joni Mitchell’s song Woodstock, which is referenced elsewhere in the puzzle. If only I’d taken more notice when I was doing that Inquisitor the other week…

COD? Too many to choose from today, but I’ll go with 29ac – “Not initially taken by Gay Rabbit? Gone one better (7)”.

Back to a Bank Holiday weekend long ago:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/06/02/independent-on-sunday-1214crosophile/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2066 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    Enjoyable, with one or two mild gripes: like Pierre I didn’t care much for 18ac and 16d retains a question mark until someone comes up with a more plausible explanation. Nonetheless, mostly good fun. 22ac got an audible chuckle, as did the COD. The Nina was helpful, especially with the rather odd 17d.

  2. dtw42 said

    Spotted the nina and the mini-theme (googled the lyrics of Stardust to confirm). Must say I was only familiar with the ‘drink’ meaning of imbibe, so 17dn was written in faint because I didn’t like it much. Referring to a dictionary after the fact I see that it can also mean ‘absorb’ so fair enough, I guess. Didn’t understand 29ac.

    11ac was my CoD from among several possibilities, I think 🙂

  3. sprouthater said

    Missed the Nina but it wouldn’t have helped if I had seen it. As I have most records by CSN&Y the Woodstock clues were write ins. Didn’t particularly like 18ac and 17d was only entered because nothing else would fit, Service = Sorb really? Must admit to not understanding 29ac either.

  4. Cornick said

    Funny, I always associate the song with Matthews Southern Comfort – it made No. 1 for three weeks back in the day…

    Is it just me, or is the type-face getting smaller these days? I make that 8-point type today, and I think I’d enjoy the puzzle more if it was BIGGER.

    • sprouthater said

      That was a cover of the much better CSN&Y cover of the Joni Mitchell song☺

      • Cornick said

        Thanks. Given that I’m a huge Neil Young fan, I should really familiarise myself a bit better with that particular fab four.

    • dtw42 said

      Certainly the type size of the clues varies a lot these days, and sometimes is smaller than comfortable. It’s back to normal today [Friday].

  5. That was fun. Didn’t know the fruit of the service tree, though.

Comments are closed.

