i Cryptic Crossword 2065 Dac

September 20, 2017

First thing’s first, here’s 20d for anyone who’s come here to find that elusive clue.

20d Craftsman installing lift in bank (5)

An added challenge from the i, then, but not an insurmountable one. Overall I found this to be on the easy side for Dac, though the SE corner gave me more than a little pause for thought. 23ac prompted a “who”? 18d I wanted to be something to do with Kansas, and both 17d and 25ac were new to me. 15d I couldn’t parse, but luckily someone over in the comments on the other side could.

COD? With lots to like, the aforementioned 25ac – “Barbecued food cool at the end of the day (5)”.

To a Monday (Dac on a Monday?) back in May 2013: http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/05/20/independent-8298-by-dac/

12 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2065 Dac”

  1. dtw42 said

    Hm. I was fine with parsing 15dn (once I’d realised that business could affair just as much as it could be firm), and with 23ac (once enough letters were in to dredge the name up from the depths of my memory). The new one to me was 5dn, and I didn’t think much of the explanation for 25ac. Ay ≠ cool in my book!

  2. Cornick said

    20d considerably easier than that SE corner – even without a clue!

  3. AndyT said

    Put me down as another who is unconvinced by 25ac, but otherwise plain sailing including the invisible clue. By the way, I note with distaste the split infinitive in huge boldface on the front page.

  4. Last one in, and new word of the day: the “Rallus aquaticus”, apparently. I wanted it to be Waterfall but couldn’t understand how the clue would work.

  5. The Potto by Carey Blyton

    The Kinkajou or Potto
    Lives in a cave or grotto
    It’s no shakes
    At ducks and drakes –
    But it’s frightfully good at Lotto.

  6. sprouthater said

    Came to this late after a day out and found it pretty straightforward just a couple of question marks , why does Knox = Scot? I’ve no idea about that and I’m another who is not convinced about 25ac. The missing 20dn wasn’t a problem but 23ac was.

Comments are closed.

