i Cryptic Crossword 2063 Quixote

September 18, 2017

And at last we get the puzzle that should have been published together with last week’s article on how to solve cryptic crosswords. 🙂 That said, I found this to be a little tricker than usual for Quixote. I got a little stuck in the SW and SE corners. 16d and 24ac went in without full understanding in the end, and 23ac was a new one on me (though the RAVI bit in the middle was as clear as day). I was solving with half a mind on other things, and still managed to finish well under par for the i, so still a good one for beginners, even if it does have a little sting in the tail.

COD? With lots to like, 1d – “Having trees, a river, a lake – what’s uninteresting in that? (8)”.

Back to May 2013 when this puzzle was first published in the Independent, for all the answers and parsing of the clues:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/05/27/independent-no-8304-by-quixote/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2063 Quixote”

  1. sprouthater said

    The SW corner was where my brisk solve came to a sticky end. 21,23 and 25 ac all being unknowns and the RAVI bit in the middle was as clear as mud to me, I needed a bit of electronic assistance with that one. 1,2 and 6dn all had multiple ticks.

  2. AndyT said

    Yes, 6d in particular is worthy of a ripple of applause. I was somewhat appalled by the brutal verbing of the noun in 19d, only to find that it’s supported by Chambers – well, arguably. That aside, a good puzzle well up to Quixote’s usual standard, and just a touch more challenging.

  3. dtw42 said

    To my horror, I failed to finish this (imagine – a Monday Quixote!) … stuff all along the bottom.

  4. dtw42 said

    BTW, Sprouthater, I was okay with 21 and 23 … but 25: WTF?
    Hm, turns out I had the right answer for 17dn but just hadn’t put it in as I couldn’t see why. Hey ho

  5. Finished and enjoyed. No problem with the religious terms. Many non-conformist chapels have those big mugs with two handles, loving cups, for their agapes. My new word was 25a. Really???

  6. The Love Feast was something the Moravians used to do! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lovefeast

  7. Cornick said

    A bit messy in the middle of my copy as I went fits the bill/ meet the bill/ fill the bill.
    No ‘Dopester’ in either my Chambers or my Collins, but unsurprisingly it exists on the internet – slang apparently.

Comments are closed.

