i Cryptic Crossword 2059 Dac

September 13, 2017

An enjoyable outing that I found to be of about middling difficulty. Both 18d and 20d were new to me, but perfectly gettable from the wordplay. 2d was the only one I couldn’t parse, but it’s explained in the comments over on the other side. 17ac I thought was an excellent example of the kind of clue Dac does so well – deceptively simple, with a lovely, smooth surface reading. One amendment from the puzzle’s initial outing in the Independent at 25ac, to adjust for inflation. 🙂

COD? 19ac – “Welsh woman, busy sort who aspires to be different? (8)”.

Back to May 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/05/15/independent-8294dac/

11 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2059 Dac”

  1. sprouthater said

    Finished but with a few question marks. I see 2dn now but the guinea part is pretty obscure and 26dn even more so. 18dn and 20dn were new to me as was 6ac in that context.

  2. AndyT said

    Seemed like the best Dac in a while to me – very sparky. Not all that keen on 26d, but otherwise super stuff.

  3. StanXYZ said

    25a – I remember when the “i” cost a mere 20p.

  4. Cornick said

    Much easier to finish than to fully understand why… and now I wish I’d persevered with trying to parse 2d, which I see is a cracker, amongst others.
    Crossword article tomorrow folks!

    • jonofwales said

      Page 32. 🙂

    • dtw42 said

      I see this blog gets a name-check in the article. There’s also an ad for a book of “All new crosswords” – do we know if they really ARE new, as opposed to old Indy ones like our dailies are?

      • jonofwales said

        Fame at last. 🙂 I’m not sure about the puzzles in that book – the i Newspaper App has a different cryptic to the paper (and is extremely easy, from what I can see), so it’s possible they’re using those.

  5. Not on the same wavelength today, or just feeling tired?

  6. Emvee said

    Big congratulations on being endorsed today – I find I rely on this site less and less as I go on but it’s been an invaluable resource for this aspiring cruciverbalist and I hope others find it equally as useful 🙂

Leave a Reply

