i Cryptic Crossword 2058 Scorpion

September 12, 2017

Today we are presented with a crime scene from April 2013 (my suspicions fall on Miss 6d). Scorpion’s puzzles are invariably interesting, inventive and sporting: I’ll wager that by the end of the week this one will turn out to have provided the most fun. Solvers who tumbled to the theme early on will have sailed through, and I trust will be suitably impressed to find that all the murderers and murder weapons are present and correct (if you want to check, click here).

Aside from an unusual anagram indicator in 17d there was nothing to raise my eyebrows, however those of a disputatious disposition will find a few kindred spirits over at Fifteensquared, where the puzzle was generally well received but a few more quibbles were raised. Highlights for me included 8, 16, 18, 19 and 20, any of which would make a decent COD, but mine is 1ac:

“1966 platter used as murder weapon (8)”

13 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2058 Scorpion”

  1. jonofwales said

    I guessed the theme as soon as I spotted all the murder weapons and murderers among the clues. Unfortunately I couldn’t remember any of them, so had to rely on the clues and vague recollections. Very much still on the easy side, though, especially for Scorpion. Your COD was indeed a very nice clue, and my LOI. As you say, lots of fun.

    I note that 23d and 25d aren’t included on the original blog, which is typical as the latter is one I had a question mark against, now resolved fortunately.

    23d – DO LL
    25d – Y PSI <- My son should have known this, as he did Spanish in school. I, unfortunately, didn't.

  2. dtw42 said

    quite a sail-through here; theme spotted pretty much from the start. I was even half expecting the word CLUEDO itself to appear as a nina somewhere but maybe that would have been a step too far.

  3. sprouthater said

    First one in was 7ac and after only a few more even I had spotted the theme. Had to check 18dn as I’m not that familiar with Muses and 19ac was as difficult to parse as they are to pass when you find yourself stuck behind them 👿

  4. Cornick said

    For a perfect solving experience, I suspect the solver would have to be only vaguely familiar with the 12 themed entries and then say ‘of course’ each time another was discovered.
    Sadly I’m much too familiar with the game, so it was over in double time. Mightly impressive grid fill though, and still lots of fun.

  5. Jimbo said

    I enjoyed that, 17 and 18 being the last to fall. I too was expecting Cluedo to be one of the answers. When it wasn’t, I wondered what the setter might have posed us. Perhaps…

    This party game? (6)

  6. That was fun! (Note to self: learn the names of the Muses…)

  7. dtw42 said

    References to muses are usually Erato, aren’t they? Thankfully I was able to recall the right one when it was clear that this time it wasn’t Erato. Er, Terpsichore for dance, yes? Don’t think I can bring to mind the names of the/any others though without cheating.

    Nice Cluedo clue there Jimbo 🙂

    • AndyT said

      Yes, Erato is the muse of cryptic crosswords usually, but most of the others have turned up at various times. Didn’t Calliope put in an appearance not so long ago? I made a point of memorising them along with the Fates and the Furies a long time ago, and they do come in handy once in a while.

  8. StanXYZ said

    That was fun – I did it in the dining room!

    I still do not understand 25d.

Leave a Reply

