i Cryptic Crossword 2057 Nitsy

September 11, 2017

A reasonably straightforward and thoroughly enjoyable start to the working week from Nitsy. I found the top half of the grid to be a lot easier than the rest, and did struggle a little on 13ac and 22d, but the rest was much as you’d expect from an IoS reprint. I had only the vaguest idea who Hoover was, but the crossing letters left little doubt as to the answer. An obligatory obscurity at 6d, following in Quixote’s footsteps, but it shouldn’t have caused most solvers too many issues.

COD? The still amusing 8d – “Got hurt with Osborne reforms? Hardly any votes available here (6,8)”.

To April 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/04/21/independent-on-sunday-1208-nitsy/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2057 Nitsy”

  1. dtw42 said

    Agreed on the top half being easier; much of the bottom half I filled in faintly, being not-quite-sure-why on a lot of answers. But they all ended up linking to each other just fine. Can I assume the clue to 17ac has been amended – the May reference must surely be new?

  2. AndyT said

    Very much the same here. A brisk Monday puzzle with no hold-ups along the way worth mentioning. When I see “Hoover” I tend to think of an FBI man in a frock, but just for once it was the other one.

  3. Cornick said

    Nice & gentle was what I felt like today, so I’m happy with that.
    9½ anagrams must surely be a record – most in the top half must surely be what made it easier.

  4. I enjoyed this. (I always enjoy the ones I can complete!) Bottom left crossing pair were the last in. Question marks next to wedge = part, and the use of the word press in the clue to 25a…

Comments are closed.

