i Cryptic Crossword 2053 Dac

September 6, 2017

Another fine puzzle from Dac which I have to be honest and admit beat me. 17dn and 25ac were the two left, 17dn was an unknown and I just couldn’t think of an alternative to Ado for Bother and my go to film director is Lean so as to get this blog done in a reasonable time I cried enough. Surprisingly due to my complete disinterest in cricket I got 15dn, being one of the six anagrams helped that cause. A bit of debate over on Fifteensquared about the parsing of 7dn which I only got once I’d spotted the USB element the rest I’m still a bit hazy about. My only other question mark was 6dn another new word. lots of good clues as is usual but the one that took my eye was

COD 12ac     Test’s cakes mom baked with unknown ingredient (4,5)

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2053 Dac”

  1. AndyT said

    Definitely one of Dac’s more challenging ones: 6d was familiar but one wonders how many people would have known 17d. According to the OED’s handy “frequency in current use” graphic, very few – and certainly not I. 7d raised a smile though, and 5d was worth a broad grin.

  2. dtw42 said

    17dn was certainly the only “never heard of it at all” for me. 15 and 25 were sufficiently familiar that they were both solvable (though I did leave 25 until I’d got everything that would check it, since to me collapsing is falling down, not in … “What’s that, Lassie? Timmy’s collapsed the well?”) 😛

  3. Cornick said

    It’s quite unusual to see out and out obscurities with Dac – but fortunately the parsing of 17d was pretty straightforward so, being away from t’internet etc, I bunged it in anyhow.
    6d caused me much more problems, because the parsing was almost as hard as the – to me – unknown solution.
    Lots to love apart from those though, with 12d being a perfect example of what Dac does best.

  4. jonofwales said

    Most of this went in without any trouble at all, but then there was 24ac, 6d, 10ac and 17d which took twice as long again. All were fairly clued, though, so no complaints.

  5. Beat me too. New vocabulary today: 6d and 17d. Am I also the only one never to have come across the American Magazine?

  6. sprouthater said

    There was an English magazine of the same name so I wondered why American was specified.

Leave a Reply

