i Cryptic Crossword 2034 Eimi

August 15, 2017

An all too rare but very welcome appearance by Eimi today, the Professor Moriarty of the Indy Crossword. Ordinarily that means there will be a theme, and of course it’s Tuesday – but I wouldn’t want to ruin anyone’s enjoyment of the puzzle by hinting and shall therefore simply refer to the relevant Fifteensquared blog entry from March 2013.

A diverse mix of nicely phrased clues ranging from straightforward to distinctly devious made for a lively solving experience, with a few smiles along the way. I particularly liked the two long anagrams and the link between 16ac and 5d; and of course 28ac and 22d (which tipped me off to the theme). 9d struck me as exceedingly good, but my favourite and therefore COD is 12ac:

“Yeléna appears heartless after Astrov eventually gets embraced in sordid play (5,5)”

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2034 Eimi”

  1. jonofwales said

    Well, I’d thought the theme was just a few 70ish / 80ish TV programmes and didn’t look any further than that. Very nicely done! On the straightforward side, and thoroughly enjoyable as Eimi usually is.

    18ac was a complete guess, and 23ac I’m not 100% convinced by, as there isn’t a particularly clear indication that we’re looking for the last letters of Hector Macdonald as well.

    12ac was my last but one in, and one I was pleased to get from the wordplay.

  2. Cornick said

    Agreement on all points, especially COD.

  3. sprouthater said

    Much the same experience as JoW. 2dn is a fine cryptic clue but what is hairdryer treatment? Sounds like something you might read about in the Sun😊

  4. I did enjoy this one, even though I didn’t get the reference to Richard Briers. I think Alex Ferguson was famous for unleashing hairdryers rather than Arsene Wenger.
    New word of the day? A horse called Barb.

Comments are closed.

