i Cryptic Crossword 2010 Jambazi

July 18, 2017

This is Jambazi’s second appearance in the i as far as I know, and just like last time he presents a decent challenge with scope for a spot of grumbling. There’s a Quentin Tarantino theme which requires no special knowledge, but it didn’t start out that way according to the setter’s comment at Fifteensquared. I thoroughly enjoyed the puzzle and am therefore happy to overlook a few peculiarities of syntax, vocabulary and some odd definitions. 7d delighted me, but there will be complaints, methinks.

Candidates for clue of the day include the aforementioned 7d, as well as 20/14, 16ac and I suppose 18ac – described delicately by Eileen as “audacious” on the other side, which is one way of putting it. My choice is 27ac:

“Game is off top inventor and poet (8)”

Back to the night after the Oscars in February 2013.

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2010 Jambazi”

  1. jonofwales said

    Well, that was quite the challenge, as I seem to remember his previous offering was. Luckily today I had a chance to persevere, and enjoyed the tussle. I half expected more to come of the theme, but it appears not.

  2. dtw42 said

    Busy day at work today so didn’t have the opportunity to devote much attention to it until this evening. I quite liked it; some went in easily, others were more tricky, perhaps the wordplay was a bit loose in places for the sake of the surface readings, but hey ho. 23dn and 27ac were last in for me – although the defs were apparent enough I struggled to parse the cryptic bits (still don’t quite see what function “borders” has in 23dn).

  3. Cornick said

    Couldn’t twig 26a alas. A very loose definition and an unfamiliar abbreviation – ser for series. Never mind, I found all the rest pretty straightforward (unusual for me when others comment on its difficulty).
    I liked 7d too – and several others including the COD and Jambazi’s seed clue 20/14.
    dtw42 I think ‘borders’ just means ‘is next to’.

  4. I did enjoy this but got stuck in the NE corner. New word: emesis. I know emetic but…
    How does 19a work? Does the clause “in middle of” have to do double duty?

Comments are closed.

