i Cryptic Crossword 2006 Morph

July 13, 2017

I made pretty rapid progress through three quarters of today’s puzzle, but the rest took an absolute age. The far NW and NE corners, together with an inability to spot 3d were the prime culprits. The latter I’d not heard of before, and desperately wanted to cram in “continental quilt”, despite it having too many letters, and not fitting what was there already. 🙂 10ac I wasn’t particularly fond of, because, well, it could be RUSTY or LUSTY, and if you were struggling with 6d, as I was, it didn’t really help.

COD? Lots of like as ever with Morph, with my vote going to 15ac – “Ashes perhaps provide spur for one who’s handy with the willow? (4,7)”, which was never going to be TEST MATCHES…

To March 2013 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/03/21/independent-8247-morph/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2006 Morph”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, the mopping up operation was rather a slow business, in my case in the SE corner. The non-kosher bit was new to me, so I’ve learned something today. Not desperately impressed with Noel Edmonds … I was going to say references but on second thoughts may as well end the sentence right there. Anyway, that aside it was all jolly good fun, and there were quite a few clues which would ordinarily be COD candidates were it not for 15ac. That’s on the shortlist for sneak of the week.

  2. dtw42 said

    Agreed re the ambiguity of 10ac.
    When I saw the 26ac clue, I *knew* it was going to require knowledge of a word for “non-kosher” that I didn’t know, so just went and googled that to give me some hope – it certainly wasn’t something I’d have been able to guess.

  3. sprouthater said

    10ac was my first in, nice I thought as I wrote Lusty, doesn’t quite seem to work as Lusts.14d, 19ac and 26ac all went in without being able to parse. LOI was the excellent 15ac was sure I was looking for some foreign cricketer until noticing that I’d put an A instead of E at the end of 4d. doh 😚

  4. Cornick said

    Found most of this considerably easier than Dac yesterday, but stuck/ failed on LOI 6d – just couldn’t see past ‘belows’ and didn’t know the alternative spelling for bye-laws.
    Agreed on COD and on this being a generally top-notch crossword puzzle.

  5. Yes, new words of the day: Tref, and did anyone else know the Swiss town?

    • jonofwales said

      I don’t think I could name any Swiss towns, never mind that one.

      • Cornick said

        As a teenager I was so sad that my idea of fun was to read the Atlas, so Sion counts as meat & drink. You’re well out of such an upbringing!

    • allan_c said

      I did know SION having been to Switzerland many years ago, but didn’t know TREF as non-kosher – though if Morph had clued 26ac in some way referring to a Welsh town (TREF) I’d have got it at once.

Comments are closed.

