i Cryptic Crossword 2001 Scorpion

July 7, 2017

Scorpion uses a lot of sporting references in this puzzle and it did seem to me a game of two halves. Quite a few were solved on the first pass even if they were not completely understood but a few left me with a feeling of total bewilderment. 4d was new to me and I assume a rarity in crossword land as a search on the other side shows that this is the only puzzle its been used in. I also notice that over there 26ac is numerated as 3,4 and not the 1,1,1,4 that we had, I suppose todays version is correct but it held me up for a bit especially as solving required a knowledge of French which much like my knowledge of Baseball is woeful (although I had heard of 20ac) 5d was only solved because it was an anagram and the checking letters. In the end it was just 1ac and 2d left both seemed quite unfathomable and were only solved by the synonyms and the few checking letters. Of the rest there was plenty to like with 9,13,17,25ac  6,8,14, and 22d all receiving ticks however

COD 5ac    Third in open? Woods? That’s rubbish (7)

For all the parsing and very little comment on this Thursday puzzle from February 2013

click Here.

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 2001 Scorpion”

  1. jonofwales said

    On the gentle side for Scorpion I thought, and for a Thursday reprint for that matter, though the toughest we’ve had this week. The enumeration of 26ac gave me pause for thought as well, but luckily the MOT bit leapt to mind immediately so it wasn’t a big issue. Last in 19ac, which gave me more than a little pause for thought.

  2. AndyT said

    Firstly, I should hold my hand up and admit that today’s baseball player really is celebrated; sufficiently so to merit inclusion in a British crossword. The only one, mind. The puzzle was superb throughout as usual for Scorpion, and distinctly soft boiled by his standards. I had more trouble with Tuesday’s Radian which was very good too, but this one is easily my favourite this week.

  3. dtw42 said

    I was left with 1ac and 2dn at the end, that I just couldn’t get at all. The rest of it was fine though 🙂

  4. Beat me… New words today: 4d; 5d; and the origin of the word Freelance.

  5. Cornick said

    You wait all year for a baseball player…

    Is it just me, or has there been something of a stylistic consistency this week? Quite intricate, no themes, one or two words on the recherché side per puzzle, similar levels of difficulty.

    Enjoyed this one again. The baseballer was my favourite clue today and, as with others, the 1a/ 2d combo was the last to fall.

Comments are closed.

