i Cryptic Crossword 1995 Nestor

June 30, 2017

This reprint of a Thursday puzzle from Nestor was for, me extremely challenging with a couple of new and obscure words, 26ac for which the wordplay made the answer fairly obvious and 18d which I failed on bunging in Sonatas because it fitted, oh well. A knowledge of extremely old thespians helped in the solving of 6ac and 27ac these perhaps a bit unfair for younger solvers as was 5d for people with no interest in football, the wordplay here seemed to be very convoluted and I must admit I cheated and sought help. 10ac was also entered without being able to parse the wordplay jogging nothing in my memory, similarly 2d I liked the cinema bit but the rest especially the jazz singer was just too obscure. 14ac and 19ac are very similar both obvious anagrams but seemingly no definition very clever and praiseworthy when twigged but for

COD 8d  To read it. I needed formatted hard copy. (4,4,7)

All the explanations and comment  from January 2013 is here at Fifteensquared

11 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1995 Nestor”

  1. dtw42 said

    Yeeees… I had several in in pencil because I didn’t quite understand them, and I also had to do quite a bit of electronic cheating. Some definitions I was a bit grumbly about (racy = dirty, does it?), though having said that 19ac was my first one in 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    I was in receptive mood today. That’s not to say that there weren’t one or two muttered imprecations, but it was a good challenge and an enjoyable one. I had the good fortune to attend a concert by the jazz singer in question back in the day, who came readily to mind, therefore. 2d was my favourite clue in this puzzle.

    A reminder that friend Cornick (aka Maize) has a crossword in the Independent today. I’m saving that for dessert.

    • jonofwales said

      We bumped into him once on a train station somewhere in Wales, as flamboyantly dressed as ever. I had no idea who he was at the time, but I remember my mother being suitably impressed.

  3. jonofwales said

    Yikes, that definitely fell well into the challenging side of things. Lots in with no idea regarding the wordplay, 22ac chief amongst them. I’m not sure I’d class that particular clue as being fair, really, but nobody else seems to have been concerned. One where I got the answer, but wrote it in very lightly. Similarly, UC for capital in 12d?

    Lots also to like, with lots of ticks in particular beside 14ac.

  4. jonofwales said

    Almost forgot, a mention must go today to our Saturday blogger, who’s ousted Phi from his accustomed spot in the Independent online. Must be a good one.

  5. Cornick said

    I love a good Nestor – and this was a good one – at least until the last few in the NW corner which defeated me, alas. Not Nestor’s fault, but my failings on 11a and those to its north.
    Heigh-ho, nice to see the master’s approach to Yeti… saw that in a puzzle somewhere else recently…

  6. Too tough for me today. Failed miserably…

  7. You are so interesting! I do not think I’ve truly read through something like this
    before. So nice to discover somebody with a few genuine
    thoughts on this subject matter. Seriously.. many thanks
    for starting this up. This site is something that is needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

Comments are closed.

