i Cryptic Crossword 1993 Dac

June 28, 2017

After struggling badly with yesterday’s offering, it was a much needed relief and confidence boost to finish today’s without too many problems. That said the RHS fell a lot more readily than the rest, causing a moment of doubt. The wordplay in 12d looked rather convoluted, so I just ignored it and hoped the checking letters would reveal all, which thankfully they did. A rare outing for ‘your’ rather than ‘ones’ in 5d.

COD? With lots to enjoy as ever, 13ac – ‘Afternoon snack consumed by Frenchman mostly (6)’.

To February 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/02/20/independent-8222dac/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1993 Dac”

  1. dtw42 said

    I think I had more trouble with the concise than the cryptic today. Hurrah for a bit of light relief. 1ac was surely a contender for easiest and most obvious anagram of the month.

  2. sprouthater said

    Didn’t take long, LOI was 13 which was also the only one I couldn’t parse. I rather liked 19d.

  3. Cornick said

    Yes, I well remember being thrown more than once in my early days of solving by ‘ones’, so nice to see ‘your’ here, which is what people actually say, of course.
    And obviously, now that I know so much more than my earlier self, I put in ‘ones’ first of all!

  4. AndyT said

    Brisk. Nice to see a Mockney clue which isn’t deplorable.

  5. Question marks next to 25a, 17d, 11a and 3d. Filled in without understanding how they worked.

Comments are closed.

