i Cryptic Crossword 1989 Tyrus

June 23, 2017

Tyrus provides us with one of his usual tough challenges, one that I certainly needed some e-help with.  Its always a help to have some checking letters but these were few and far between after the first pass, 10ac, 11ac and 17ac just screamed Anagram but  finding the exact component parts was a challenge. The SW corner held out the longest, 14, 19 and 20d all being entered without being able to parse. 14d is probably regarded by some as very clever but it doesn’t really appeal to me and 19d is completely unfair as golfer always relates to Els☺ and I know take = r has been used before but I find it very obscure. Alongside all the question marks were plenty of ticks 22d and 24ac may well have been used before but I find them amusing, 4d and 5d were also worthy of ticks but

COD  (it either makes you smile or shudder )  2d   Dump assistant (6,3)

The only quibble I can see with this puzzle is 5ac not being updated but back in February 2013 on Fifteensquared they seem a bit concerned about 6d?

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1989 Tyrus”

  1. jonofwales said

    Well, that was good. Perhaps because I got the longer answers straight off I didn’t find it as difficult as some, finishing just about par. 2d most definitely raised a smile, but I also liked 8d and 5d. Pity about 5ac, but the seat of government in question is probably famous enough few will have struggled. Isn’t that two Thursdays we’ve had this week?

  2. AndyT said

    It was good, but there were some tuts along the way. Definitely a two Thursday week … this one suited me better than yesterday’s, but as far as I’m concerned Scorpion easily scoops the crossword of the week prize.

  3. Cornick said

    I found it a struggle and went for electronic help earlier than I have in a long while. I wonder why puzzles are at their hardest towards the end of the week, when I’m at my most tired?

  4. dtw42 said

    What Cornick said. My girlfriend and I have just finished that between us (and some word-finders) this morning. Didn’t help me that some of the long answers turned out to be phrases I’m not really familiar with (I’m looking at you, 5dn and 13ac); 17ac eventually went in without the parsing being fully understood. 19 and 25 were last in (for far too long I was sure the historian was going to be Plutarch).

Comments are closed.

