i Cryptic Crossword 1988 Klingsor

June 22, 2017

An enjoyable challenge from Klingsor. A lot of the grid fell very quickly, but the last third held out for long enough to push this into an above par time. One or two I couldn’t parse, including 22d, though thankfully that was a name I knew. 20ac I thought a little unfair – wordplay that was quite tricky, and a definition that meant nothing if you didn’t know Klingsor’s real name, which I didn’t. 14ac required a trip to Google because, well, my knowledge of the periodic table isn’t that good.

COD? 10ac – ‘”Sorry I lied first of all” admits (almost) Conservative leader (9)’.

Back to January 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/01/24/independent-8199-klingsor/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1988 Klingsor”

  1. dtw42 said

    Hm, I found that pretty difficult, and there were more than one or two that I couldn’t parse. Yeah, I didn’t think much of 20ac either.

  2. sprouthater said

    Mostly straightforward. I didn’t mind 20ac just took “I” to indicate a name that would be “a right” reversed, nobody quibbled over woman in 22ac which prompts one to look for a female name with no hint as to which one you are looking for. 14d and 22d were both complete obscurities to me and 17ac , to clue this as ” goings-on ” seems extremely tenuous.

  3. AndyT said

    Not as happy as usual with Klingsor: a bit too much straining for maximum obscurity all told. There were still plenty of crackers as per, but some of this material belongs in the Inquisitor if you ask me. Mind you, I was happy enough with 14: thanks once again, Mr Lehrer.

  4. Cornick said

    I thoroughly enjoyed this and found it a little easier than usual for a Klingsor – to complete, that is, but not to parse… Look, Outrigger and Rein defeated explanation, so I’m grateful for the link once again.
    I did know the setter’s first name as it happened, but it never occurred to me in 20a and I agree with Sprouthater that the clue worked fine in any case.

  5. 🙂 Today’s unknowns include Ger = a tent; the element at 14a (and even if I could recite Tom Lehrer, I’d never have spotted the Nb); calf = a bit off a 19d; and 7d. You live and learn!

Comments are closed.

