i Cryptic Crossword 1986 Scorpion

June 20, 2017

This morning I was woken at 3.44 by our cat beating up a full-sized fox … quite possibly everyone else in the neighbourhood had a disturbed night too, as it was a noisy business.  Recent neurological studies on sleep deprivation make for alarming reading, so seeing Scorpion’s name by the crossword gave me pause.  I may have been seen to shudder slightly, even.  No need to worry as it turned out though, because by this setter’s standards the puzzle was a gentle one with a very familiar theme; innocent of obscurities but with plenty of the elan we’ve come to expect.  Just right, in fact.

This one dates back to January 2013 and attracted surprisingly few comments over at Fifteensquared, but they’re duly appreciative and nobody found anything quibbleworthy.  I have a welter of ticked clues to choose from, but must agree with the consensus over there that 27ac was a gem.  Clue of the day, therefore:

“Stern action from nurse perhaps, redirecting blokes in casualty (5)”

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1986 Scorpion”

  1. jonofwales said

    Ah yes, the joys of high summer…

    I thought I was in trouble today until I got to 26ac when the penny well and truly dropped. From then on it was a pretty quick solve, by Scorpion’s standards at least. Similarly sleep deprived, though, I could have done without the shock when I saw his name. 😉

  2. sprouthater said

    A familiar theme is only familiar if you are familiar with it which I ain’t ☺ however the ant helped a lot and with a bit of checking of the Google kind I had it done. 27ac is indeed a fine clue but I wholeheartedly agree with Quixote’s ex-editor, it’s not the sort of word I want to think about with my cornflakes.

  3. Cornick said

    As it happened 7 and 10/8 were my first ones in – then it was a bit of a memory test with a list of possibilities in the margin, which indeed then made for a quick fill by Scorpion standards.
    It’s surprising how often 27a crops up – although never in The Times where it is one of the words on the proscribed list, I’m told.

  4. dtw42 said

    A spectacularly busy day’s work meant that having filled in 7ac and 3dn in the staff car park before going in, I didn’t get to look at the puzzle again until 6pm. Some of the characters in question were familiar (so 23 was one I actually went in search for in the grid); others weren’t (so i had to google them in order to get 20ac, as part of the SW corner which was last to fall). Pleasant enough though, and all fair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

