i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1978 by Phi

June 17, 2017

Saturday 10th June 2017

One of the joys of blogging the weekend’s prize puzzle is that there’s no pressure to solve and get a blog posted by lunch-time. Just as well last Saturday, with a stonker of a puzzle which had plenty to relish, but which took me several re-visits whilst it idled on the kitchen table. I for one much prefer doing a tricky puzzle that way to using electronic aids.

An unfamiliar definition of ‘Old Man of the Sea’ and a new word ‘copacetic’ were the only things I felt compelled to double-check, and it’s quite a few years since I watched any Kathakali dance, but everything fell into place eventually – very satisfying!

Amongst several contenders for COD – including the clue for the aforementioned dance – I’ll plump for the following:

18a Cartoon sailor caught wasp in flight, suppressing awful pain (7,7)

All the answers, plus an nerdfest of a discussion on the word ‘on’, can be found here.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1978 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    18ac – yes, it had to be really, although 15ac was the one which caused me a deal of bother. Kathakali only rang the faintest of bells and needed checking, but copacetic went down well and got an appreciative tick. Think I must have picked that one up from Chandler, Hammett or one of those wiseguys.

  2. jonofwales said

    A little trickier than some Phi’s we’ve had of late, with a couple of unknowns (for me), but also a nice big write-in at 18ac.

  3. Rick King said

    Interesting, my experience of this was exactly the same. Would have finished a little sooner if I had the right spelling for flageolet, which I have still not parsed to my satisfaction, but apparently is an instrument as well as a bean so right up Phi’s street.
    Thank you Cornick for the blog and Phi for a challenging puzzle.

Leave a Reply

