i Cryptic Crossword 1983 Nestor

June 16, 2017

This is a reprint of a Saturday prize puzzle and I feel the winner certainly deserved his or her prize. I found it extremely hard to get into with only a few entries after the first pass , however with a bit of perseverance and some help from a crossword completer I nearly finished it 22dn defeated me. The only real oddity for me was “encloses modern” in 14ac, whilst the solution is obvious enough from the clue and checking letters the cryptic part leaves me a bit confused. The blogger on Fifteensquared thought 13ac worthy of mention but it elicited a groan from me whilst 3dn, 5dn and 12ac all produced smiles of approval but –

COD 26ac   To avoid both committing and sharing one is far from spineless  (8)

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1983 Nestor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Another tough one. 🙂 Today, though, I persisted, staggering across the finish line eventually in the SW corner with first 15d and then 23ac. Obscure geography was never my strong point. Thoroughly enjoyable, in a masochistic sort of way.

  2. dtw42 said

    Agreed on the general toughness and slow start (and the necessity for electronic assistance in a couple of places). I *did* put in the right answer for 22dn, though it was near the end and a bit of a guess; hence 24ac followed it as the last one in.
    They’ve had us on the rack a bit this week, haven’t they?

  3. Cornick said

    Agree wholeheartedly on COD – immaculate wording from Nestor.
    Soaray is an island of which I had never heard – so that and 24a (where I bunged in Reid without knowing why) were my two failures. If I complained a few weeks ago about the puzzles getting too easy, I take it all back!

    • AndyT said

      I think it’s Soay, as in RAW A(rea) in SOAY. Not in my top fifty Hebrides, admittedly. However, that’s the only thing that needed looking up, so Nestor did well in producing such a teeth-grinder without resorting to obscure material. Happy bunny this week: excellent value for money. 😉

      • Cornick said

        Indeed, that’s the one. Neither in my top 100 Hebrides nor my Atlas, but good old Wikipedia tells me it has a population of 1. Ho!

      • Cornick said

        And it’s Carol ReEd… feeling less than brilliant!

  4. In my allotted hour I only managed half.

Comments are closed.

