i Cryptic Crossword 1982 Donk

June 15, 2017

The original blogger noted that this was very tough, which I agree with, that tough that I gave up in 5d halfway through. About a quarter to be fair fell pretty quickly, but from then on it quickly became a slog with too many answers where I couldn’t fathom the wordplay. Oh well, there’s always tomorrow… I’ll be interested to see what others thought, but let’s just say this wasn’t for me.

COD? 19d – ‘Leaves range when shot in balls (7)’.

To February 2013 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/02/24/independent-on-sunday-1200donk-placeholder/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1982 Donk”

  1. AndyT said

    Finished it … eventually. Definitely a fair old slog, but once again I’m impressed with Donk and would welcome more taxing, inventive puzzles like this. I’ve a feeling this might be a minority view, however. We haven’t had a real Thursday stinker for a while, but this is probably the closest in recent weeks.

  2. sprouthater said

    Too many were entered without properly understanding why. Absolutely no idea what 24 was about and “pair of blokes” = nuts hmm. All a bit vague for my liking.

  3. Cornick said

    Finally caught up with my backlog of i puzzles in what has been a pretty tough week so far – and at work too!
    What to make of this one? Well, 3 double ticked for brilliance, 3 left at the end unsolved and 3 un-parsed. So brilliant, yes, and I’ll definitely be looking forward to the next Donk, when I promise to persevere a little longer.

  4. dtw42 said

    Hm. Just finished this one with some word-finder cheating (mostly a strip of words down the right hand side). Like the rest of you, I had several that I couldn’t parse. Very tough.

Leave a Reply

