i Cryptic Crossword 1979 Quixote

June 12, 2017

A nice, straightforward puzzle to start the week. Some complaints over on Fifteensquared regarding how easy it was, but this TBH is the sort of puzzle I’m looking for on a Monday. Lots of opportunities for the harder stuff later in the week. Talking of which, I was surprised how many solvers didn’t know 2d, a phrase which seemed to crop up in many a film / TV show at one time. Or perhaps I’m just showing my age.

COD? 6d – ‘Groups with members one over the eight – and seen to be drunk (7)’.

To February 2013:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/02/04/independent-8208-by-quixote/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1979 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    Quixote is a virtuoso at this sort of puzzle, so no complaints from me.

  2. dtw42 said

    Not hugely enamoured of 11dn, which was my last one in and put in as a sort of “oh well suppose it must be” … but other than that all fine. Was so busy at work that I didn’t really get time to look at this until at least 4pm.

  3. sprouthater said

    I didn’t know 2d and I am of the same opinion a dtw42 regarding 11d , otherwise pretty straightforward

  4. One I could finish so must be ok. Had the same problem as everyone else with 13a. Hadn’t heard of 6d either.

Comments are closed.

