i Cryptic Crossword 1977 Klingsor

June 9, 2017

Another excellent offering from Klingsor which for me was quite easy to get into but difficult to complete. My LOI was 4d, I’m not keen on this sort of clue where the synonym is also part of the cryptic but that’s just me, 5ac was a similar ploy but the solution seemed a bit more obvious. Both 19ac and 27ac provoked a lot of head scratching but it was only 22 and 24d that I had trouble parsing both of which are expertly dissected on Fifteensquared.  Too many candidates to choose just one from but as its customary to do so.

COD 12ac Get a bit lost in New Orleans on the way back (6)

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1977 Klingsor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Much the same experience here – lots of the grid filled reasonably quickly, then four or five that took much the same time again. 18ac must surely have seen its day by now, but lots to like elsewhere.

  2. AndyT said

    Same here: quick start slow finish. A nice wide variety of cluing ploys today I thought: all very entertaining.

  3. Cornick said

    I can remember a time when I fancied I could complete a wonderful Klingsor like this somewhat easier than some of the regular idothei contributors. Not this time though – took me an age. Maybe I shouldn’t have stayed up watching the telly for quite so long last night.

    • jonofwales said

      I managed until midnight before I decided it’d be far easier to sleep and check the news in the morning.

Comments are closed.

