i Cryptic Crossword 1976 Tees

June 8, 2017

It’s a Thursday, and a prize puzzle reprint, so on the hardish side, but not fiendishly so. Tees on inventive form as ever, but perhaps towards the easier end of the spectrum for him. Overall time just above par for the i, with a little tussle at the close on 8d. A hasty INSPECTOR at 2d cost me a lot of time in that corner. Remember to check the wordplay. I must admit to Googling 13ac, otherwise I probably wouldn’t have got that or 16ac either. Questions at the close? Exactly the same ones as the Fifteensquared blogger, but they’re all explained in the comments. Much fun to be had all in all.

COD? 17d – ‘Astride brother, I want to reproduce with relatives (7)’.

To the tail end of 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/01/05/independent-8177-sat-29-december-2012-tees/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1976 Tees”

  1. AndyT said

    Seemed a bit tougher than usual for Tyrus to me, but maybe I’m just off form. Thoroughly enjoyed it anyway, and was pleased to find that the requisite Shakespeare and Marlowe knowledge was still there in my brain after all. 8d is more my cultural level nowadays and got a chuckle, as did 12ac I’m afraid.

  2. Cornick said

    You’re a cultured fellow AndyT. Antigonus is the one who takes the infant Perdita off to Where-ever-it-is, and there’s a story that ‘Exit pursued by bear’ is the only original stage direction in all Shakespeare – probably an urban myth though…

    This one filled nicely from the bottom up – wonderful creativity in those clues, I thought. NW corner needed to be unlocked with a bit of Googling, alas but all very satisfactory in the end. Couldn’t parse 10a though.

  3. sprouthater said

    As a fully paid up and card carrying philistine I needed Google’s help with 13, 16 and 23/22a. I couldn’t parse 12ac either.

Comments are closed.

