i Cryptic Crossword 1974 Crosophile

June 6, 2017

It being Tuesday, there’s bound to be something devilishly clever going on. The pangram alert klaxon went off when 7d went in, but that’s not it. No hints from me, but I’d urge solvers to have a good old hunt around in the completed grid before resorting to Fifteensquared – there’s something hiding in there and a nice little theme too.

None of that got in the way of a polished and fairly straightforward puzzle which was a pleasure to solve. There are some commendable clues today – 6, 8, 10 and 11 for instance – my favourite being 29ac:

“Return of short Romany girls – good lookers? (10)”

We’re back to wet and windy January 2013 this time.

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1974 Crosophile”

  1. jonofwales said

    Not only did I miss the Nina, but also struggled badly with a puzzle everyone else seems to have breezed through. By Friday perhaps I might have woken up.

  2. dtw42 said

    Nah, you weren’t the only one. I got through *most* of it fine, but had to resort to an online wordfinder for 8dn, and as for 6dn … well what I know about chess you could fit in a matchbox without taking the matches out first so it’s no wonder I hadn’t the foggiest about that one.

    On seeing Batarde’s comment above I went back and studied the grid and saw the nina, but it’s too long since I read the work in question for me to have made the link with any of the other thematic words. Meh.

  3. Cornick said

    Found it really hard. Not sure why. Failed on 6d. I think of a gingko as a medicinal tree or a prehistoric tree, but I guess it might be an ornamental tree for some.
    Know Jabberwocky by heart, but not Hunting of Snark at all, so failed also on theme.

  4. allan_c said

    Thanks , Batarde. I hadn’t spotted theme/nina while solving but afteryour hint I spotted the Snark and then found some, but not all, of the theme words before checking in 15sq.

Comments are closed.

