i Cryptic Crossword 1971 Crosophile

June 2, 2017

An enjoyable enough puzzle from Crosophile in which he gives us an insight into his musical taste , spot the Nina, I missed it and the setter himself seems confused about whether its Somewhere or Something in his comments on Fifteensquared however none of this helped or hindered the solving process. Some were entered without complete understanding of why, principally 11ac which struck me as a bit too clever, 27ac as I have no idea who the person is and 18d which the clue just doesn’t seem to read correctly. Both 16d and 20d were groan worthy but both 28 and 29ac made me smile. 15ac and 4d garnered a couple of ticks each but for

COD  2d  The lead up to fast runs in sporting diagrams  (5,4)

 

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1971 Crosophile”

  1. dtw42 said

    O.o … fifteensquared blogger said he found “this one relatively tough”. Apart from the last five or so answers (mostly in the NW corner of the grid), I’d finally experienced what some solvers call a “read and write” – 85% of the puzzle filled in from the first read of each clue. Thought I was in danger of finishing it before leaving the house for work. 1, 2, 3, 11, 21 and 23 were the only ones to offer much resistance.

    Didn’t see the nina/theme though.

  2. jonofwales said

    Nope, I didn’t spot the Nina either, and had no idea what was going on in 11ac or 27ac. Maybe on the tough side for the IoS, but perhaps about par for the i. An enjoyable end to the working week.

  3. Cornick said

    Like dtw42 this was mostly a quick solve, but the NW corner held out for a while at the end. Actually I rather liked 11a and 18d, the only things I didn’t were ‘recurrent’ as a reversal indicator in 6d (although that’s probably just my ignorance) and the definition of osmosis as ‘becoming absorbed by’.
    Waiting for this laptop to warm up I spotted the Nina & so went to Wikipedia first to see the track listings on ‘Aerial’. Might listen to that…

  4. AndyT said

    Fairly briskly seen off. I was pretty taken with this puzzle and thought 11 and 18ac were first rate. 18d, conversely, is a mess: I’ve no objection to the clever construction but the surface is a real lip curler. Anyway, largely enjoyable. Perhaps I shall investigate that Nina too, now that it’s been brought to my attention. 😉

  5. Michael said

    Part 2 of Aerial is full of beautiful arrangements, but the Rolf Harris vocals seem even weirder now than when the album first came out.

Comments are closed.

