i Cryptic Crossword 1962 Punk

May 23, 2017

Punk is amongst my favourite setters because he clearly sets out to entertain and amuse as much as to bamboozle and baffle. There’ll always be a few chuckles in there, and so it proved today. However, you just can’t please some people, and it seems that back in December 2012 a number of the Fifteensquared regulars had fallen out of bed on the grumpy side.

So yes, this puzzle is in the libertarian vein, and Punk does indeed take quite a few liberties. None of which seemed obscure to me, although the conventionally constructed 8ac was a bit rich – it’s easier if you just ignore the definition for all the help it gives. Anyway, leaving that one quibble aside I thoroughly enjoyed myself, in particular the clues which prompted all the moaning on the other side. “fff pb” is just fine by me, thank you very much. My clue of the day is worthy of the Beano:

20d: “Thumb thing that th a thign? (7)”

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1962 Punk”

  1. dtw42 said

    I found this quite fun, and actually put 15dn in first (admittedly in pencil to see how it would contribute to the acrosses around it) – perhaps the weird clue drew my attention first. I’m with those who felt that Pb should have had a capital, but the lack of it didn’t cause any problems.

  2. Emvee said

    21a was certainly easier after yesterday 🙂 nice puzzle, really enjoyed it

  3. jonofwales said

    Good fun from Punk, with a few liberties taken, but I’m not complaining. Wot, no theme?

  4. sprouthater said

    Good puzzle even if it did have an awful Spoonerism ☺

  5. Cornick said

    Cripes some people are hard to please!
    I thought this was terrific. Spilling over with creativity and fun at nearly every turn. Yes, I too raised an eyebrow at pb instead of Pb, but that was fine because it was fff rather than Fff, which wouldn’t have worked as well.
    A real treat – agree on COD, but the Himalayan fun and Redgrave shenanigans ran it close.

Comments are closed.

