i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1954 by Phi

May 20, 2017

Saturday 13th May 2017

Over at Fifteensquared with all the answers here, Phi says he gives us a Nina about 50% of the time.  I wonder whether that figure includes puzzles which have themes, ghost themes, those which have interesting grids and those with that Phi speciality of ‘new and interesting’ words? Straightforward puzzles seem to me to be as rare as hens’ teeth – but this was one of those.

Quite tricky in places – ‘aquatint’ only rang a distant bell in 14a, and the meaning of ‘screw’ in 4d was unfamiliar.  Then with 21d the wordplay and checkers pointed to Ao dai, and I’m betting I wasn’t the only one reaching for a dictionary – turns out it’s a Vietnamese dress. Obviously!

Still, all perfectly solvable and enjoyable as ever. Discussion at length on the other channel about 19d and the possible ambiguity of which was the required answer, Apse or Apps. Seemed okay to me – I just assumed the ‘in’ was a link word.

COD – With apologies for omitting what is an inviolable tradition and thanks to AndyT for pointing it out… Hmm… Yes, it’s a goodie isn’t it:

10a  Augmentation of text in line covered by revolutionary work on document? (5)

2 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1954 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I wan’t desperately keen on this one, which didn’t feel like it was quite up to Phi’s usual standard somehow. 21d was an annoyance. Still, I did very much like 10ac … just thought I’d mention that since there doesn’t appear to be a clue of the day. 😉

  2. jonofwales said

    This took me a little longer than usual for Phi, and… that’s all I can remember about it now. I see he’s hogging the crosswords in the i today. 😉

Comments are closed.

