i Cryptic Crossword 1959 Nestor

May 19, 2017

Well I certainly found this hard going, a few reasonably easy ones to get started with but then I ground to halt and started  lightly penciling in some that were guesses unfortunately one in particular 26a was incorrect and I thought Mark to be an excellent answer ark = vessel with end of ram =m. Oh well.  Lots of ingenious clueing some of which a little too convoluted for my taste especially 6d and 23d along with the obscure French river at 5a left me a tad discontent, however there were some fine clues on offer and to pick just one is difficult but

COD     21d Figure involved with start of blaze?  (7)

Still in January 2013

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/01/03/independent-8181-nestor/

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1959 Nestor”

  1. jonofwales said

    One that was definitely easier to start than finish. I put a fair few in on crossing letters and definition alone, which helped, but was stuck for a long time at the end on 7d (where I could see for ages what to do, but for some reason just couldn’t get to the answer!), 23d (where a guess at RAMBO stymied me for a while), and 25ac, which I probably would have got sooner if it wasn’t for the aforementioned guess.

    Perhaps not as hard as they get, due to Nestor’s always precise, fair clues, but hard enough. Thoroughly enjoyable, however, throughout.

  2. dtw42 said

    Yeah, I was waiting to see what everyone else thought of this. Some clues I liked because they were very clever … and then some others I disliked because they felt like they were trying to be too clever for their own good; a mixed bag in the end then.

  3. Cornick said

    Well I loved that. Certainly most of the LHS was much easier than the right, but I thought the constructions on clues like 7d, 5a and 6d – precisely the ones that I’d found most puzzling – were brilliant. I twigged the definition on 23d, but not the parsing, otherwise everything was eminently comprehensible – eventually!

  4. AndyT said

    Seems like we all had a bit of a tussle with this one. All present and correct here, but that doesn’t mean to say that I understood everything. Some real flashes of brilliance, of which 12 and 17 were my favourites … but the line between scintillating and smart alecky is ill defined. I felt that this one wobbled a little in places.

Comments are closed.

