i Cryptic Crossword 1957 Dac

May 17, 2017

Something more conventional than yesterday’s Rorschach test, but thoroughly satisfying as we have come to expect on a Wednesday. There are just two entries at Fifteensquared for the solution to 5d, both in crosswords by Dac, and it’s certainly not a familiar word to me. Perfectly deducible however from the immaculate clue, which is as it should be. Otherwise nothing too controversial, except maybe the reversal indicator in 21d.

The praise for this puzzle was tempered by some quibbling over on The Other Side back in January 2013, but I have no reservations. Two which came in for some discussion were 24 and 26ac: both strong COD candidates for me. The latter takes it:

“Noddy Holder performing in Slade, also Jagger? Not half (4,6)”

Is than a nod to the late Alan Freeman, do we suppose?

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1957 Dac”

  1. sprouthater said

    Very enjoyable, surprised myself by getting 3a from the cryptic. Didn’t understand 24a and entered it with a grimace but having read the blog that’s changed to a smile.

  2. jonofwales said

    Thanks for covering today, we didn’t get back here until four so the blog would have been very late. I found this quite difficult for Dac, though I suspect 5 hours sleep may have been a contributing factor to that. Agreed on the COD.

  3. Yay! I completed one. First completed puzzle without any aids in a while. Last one 9a. Didn’t know the second meaning?

  4. Cornick said

    I had 24a as my COD – but now you point out the Alan Freeman ‘not half’ catchphrase, I concur wholeheartedly – beautifully done.
    Lordy-Lord how I wish they’d given me just a little Latin at school – the first letter of 25a is still staring at me blankly – am I allowed to put it in now, so it doesn’t keep on reproaching me from the recycling?

  5. AndyC said

    I’ve just realised I’ve left my copy of yesterday’s i outside… and now it’s gone. Where can I get to see this edition of the crossword?

    • AndyT said

      Ah, tricky. Unless anyone else knows otherwise there probably won’t be an online option. My local library keeps the i – worth a try?

      • AndyC said

        I emailed the i customer support people and within a couple of hours they’d sent me a PDF of the crossword. Sorted!

Comments are closed.

