i Cryptic Crossword 1956 Rorschach

May 16, 2017

Mmm, got to admit that I wasn’t particularly enamoured with this one. Our theme is airports, of which I’d heard of one of the entries in the grid. That, together with some pretty difficult clues meant that I gave up at the end with two unfilled. They also happened to be ones the original blogger couldn’t parse. 18d I got, but didn’t like. Ditto 14ac. Perhaps, given the slightly obscure theme, we could have done with some more generous clueing.

That said, I also had ticks beside a fair few, so it wasn’t an entirely negative experience, with my COD going to 6d – ‘Damn! Rife roundabouts will make you Milton Keynes sceptic! (8)’.

To January 2013 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/01/17/independent-8193rorschach/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1956 Rorschach”

  1. Cornick said

    I’m a great admirer of Rorschach, I knew all those airports were eponyms and was able to solve all of the clues which were all perfectly sound and or brilliant… so why, I am trying to work out, did I not particularly enjoy it? Puzzling!

  2. AndyT said

    Huh. The under-checking didn’t help much. My experience was like Cornick’s: got there in the end; all very clever; didn’t enjoy it.

  3. sprouthater said

    I finished it but didn’t get too much enjoyment from it but then I don’t like the linking of a theme to a particular clue, in fact I don’t like themes at all. The use of Saint Paul’s to indicate an American spelling seemed a bit over contrived, 15d was my favourite.

  4. I got off to a 1/8 with John Lennon and George Best but then ground pretty much to a halt. Another DNF for me.

Comments are closed.

