i Cryptic Crossword 1953 Kairos

May 12, 2017

This IOS reprint marks the debut for this setter who is a worker priest, a term I’ve not come across before, and a lawyer. The former of these two occupations is in evidence as there is a sort of religious theme running through both the clues and the answers though nothing that will impede the secular solver.   15a was my first entry and the grid remained pretty empty for quite a while not helped by entering America for 1d ,well It has AC and I in it as does the correct answer which I still can’t parse. Three others I have trouble with are 3d Monastic Office = Lords, 17d Plants = Sets and 13d which I don’t understand at all. The  five anagrams in the across clues were all good and provided a starting point for solving the rest. In all I found this enjoyable and, apart from the three mentioned, eminently solvable puzzle.

While nothing stood out as spectacular I did like 5d and 14d but

COD 14a Soldiers invade Times Square (5)

The January 2013 Blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/01/27/independent-on-sunday-1196-kairos-placeholder/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1953 Kairos”

  1. jonofwales said

    A gentle end to the week I thought, and an enjoyable debut. I thought LORDS was a sound-a-like of Lauds, which is a monastic office, morning prayer I believe. I had a big tick by 1ac, if only for the nice bit of Dr Who misdirection.

  2. AndyT said

    Hmmm, not bad, if rather humourless and verging on the smart-alecky in places. Still, I have no real complaints except 6ac, which includes one of my pet hates (“key” for any letter between a and g); a non-standard abbreviation, and an unconvincing synonym. All told that one gave me the pip.

  3. sprouthater said

    Doom was my first thought followed closely by No.

  4. Cornick said

    Re 17d, if you plant something, you could be said to set it – ‘Plant it there’, sort of thing. Interestingly ‘Set’ is the word with the most meanings in English – 58 noun uses, 128 verbal uses and 10 as a participial adjective. But I’m sure you knew that.
    Kairos puts in sterling work over on Big Dave’s website where, under the nom de plume Prolixic, he reviews the very mixed puzzles by debutants in ‘Rookie Corner’ every Monday. It’s fascinating to see people who have never compiled before having a go. I recommend it.

    • Cornick said

      On second thoughts I only recommend it for people of a forensic disposition – some of the puzzles have brilliance about them, but some are frankly awful!

      • jonofwales said

        I’ve only solved one or two from Rookie Corner, some chap called Maize who fell into the former category. 😉

  5. Andrew said

    14a maybe your COD. Unfortunately there is no answer given for this clue !

Comments are closed.

