i Cryptic Crossword 1952 Punk

May 11, 2017

A pretty tough offering from Punk, but one that was a pleasure to solve throughout. Lots of inventive clues, lots of fun to be had along the way. First in 11ac, last in 14d. I couldn’t parse 26ac, but it’s explained in the comments over on the other side. Don’t tell my wife that her name was the last one I thought of when trying to sort out 9ac. 🙂

COD? It’s got to be 24/7, hasn’t it? ‘It was here 2 25! (6-4,5)’, which got the most ticks I’ve given a clue in a long time, and a well deserved laugh.

Back to January 2013 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2013/01/14/independent-8190-by-punk/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1952 Punk”

  1. AndyT said

    The second corker this week, and I have run out of ticks. 3/2/27 was the best example of a “you’re kidding me … surely not?” anagram in a long time, but yes, it does have to be 24/7 really. Didn’t Cornick speculate that Punk/Paul saves his very best stuff for the Indy recently? Certainly looks like it on this showing. Bravo.

  2. Cornick said

    What joy!
    I don’t like to admit how many times I revisited this in dribs and drabs throughout the day – folded page 22 in one hip pocket, retractable biro in the other. But they fell (as all good clues must) one by one, with the last to be parsed being 26a – another glorious pdm (penny drop moment – as the good folk of Big Dave’s website are fond of saying) just as I returned from my day in the rainforest. 24/7 was of course superb and will have undoubtedly been the first entry Punk put in his grid – but there are frankly too many other delights to mention.

  3. sprouthater said

    I’ve been really off form this week and this didn’t do anything to improve that situation. Some of the misdirection here was a bit too far off for my liking. Maybe it’s a bit pedantic but unless the you are Lewis Hamilton a Merc isn’t a High performance car and a Hippo definitely isn’t huge yes it’s pretty big but next to an elephant it’s just large.☺

    • Cornick said

      Yes sprouthater, Punk certainly stretches things to bursting point, and those two (amongst others) doubtless raised a few eyebrows. Worth it though!

  4. I really loved this one. 24/7 is brilliant, particularly as it’s hidden by 2 25, which needs you to get 3 2 27 first. My only question mark was describing 19 as a monster?

Comments are closed.

