i Cryptic Crossword 1949 Poins

May 8, 2017

The consensus back in the day seems to have been that this IoS reprint was decidedly on the tricky side. Until I read that I was going to comment that this was a pretty straightforward, enjoyable solve that took me about the same time as Quixote usually does, so take your pick. That said, my first few in were 9ac, with none of the crossing letters helping with the down clues, and then nothing until 17ac, but from that point on it was pretty plain sailing, with everything understood and parsed, ending in the NW corner.

Apparently there’s a mini-theme around the town of Settle that seems to crop up fairly regularly in crossword-land but nowhere else. I’m guessing that will have passed most solvers by. Regarding Settle, I questioned the capitalisation in 10ac, but a brief Google search seems to indicate it’s OK, even amongst strict Ximeneans.

Quite a few nice clues, I thought, COD going to 14ac – ‘An expression of surprise over bit of Cellophane discovered in cheese roll (7)’.

To December 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/12/16/independent-on-sunday-1190poins/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1949 Poins”

  1. dtw42 said

    Have just finished this ā€“ I’m one to have found it somewhat trickier than the old Monday Quixotes, and needed the fifteensquared blog to explain 19ac to me (which was last in).

  2. AndyT said

    The connection between Settle (lovely town; know it well) and 15ac is clear enough, but the rest appears tenuous in the extreme to me. Anyway, this did seem tougher than the Monday norm, and I’d agree with Pierre that some of the cluing was distinctly loose. My thanks yet again to Tom Lehrer for embedding the list of elements in my brain at an early age. 14ac was my favourite, too.

    • dtw42 said

      Same here re Tom Lehrer and the elements ā€“ has come in handy at quizzes and Pointless from time to time. All together now, “These are the only ones of which the news has come to Harvard…”

  3. Cornick said

    One thing that did make this a bit tricky was the counter-intuitive way that link words like ‘for’ and ‘of’ were used in 1a, 1d and 13d. Klingsor gives advice on this subject on his website – I suspect he wouldn’t be amused!
    As for what they called a ‘mini-theme’ on the other channel, having ‘Settle’ in the text of one clue and ‘Harry Percy’ in another can hardly be called any kind of theme – or even a coincidence for that matter – given that a) neither appears as an answer and b) Settle is in Yorkshire whereas Hotspur was Earl of Northumberland. Rant over!

  4. sprouthater said

    Tougher than the usual Monday offering and not particularly enjoyable, some of the cluing was definitely on the loose side.

  5. … there may be many others, but they haven’t been disc-arvard.
    (Only half completed in my allotted hour.)

Comments are closed.

