i Cryptic Crossword 1947 Nestor

May 5, 2017

I found this difficult but with perseverance a solvable and extremely enjoyable puzzle. I needed all of the blank space generously donated by Hyundia for my anagram solving and parsing which was mostly successful only failing partially on 28a and 17d. 20d gave a little concern as Collins gives it as “Easily digestible” which didn’t seem to fit at all but Chambers has “cheerful” at the very end of its definition. This wasn’t a quick solve by any means and at the end I was left with 18d and was on the verge of giving up when I spotted it hidden away in the clue. It would be easier to pick out the clues I didn’t like (7d and 18d) than to select just one as exceptional, but if I must

COD 8d  Inclination to convert Islamic converts under raised stage area in church.(14)

The original blog by the estimable Duncanshiell from December 2012 is here http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/12/06/independent-8158-nestor/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1947 Nestor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Well, that was impressive. I usually enjoy Nestor’s puzzles, but that was excellent, even by his standards. Difficult in places, but accessible, and with lots to enjoy. I didn’t find it as hard as yesterday’s, perhaps because the longer clues fell pretty quickly for me, sometimes without recourse to the cryptic parts, which is a shame, because they were very good. 14d was my last one in, and perhaps favourite today.

  2. AndyT said

    A steady and absorbing solve with no grinding halts, and a good deal to enjoy along the way. Crossword of the week for me, if we leave Maize out of it. Picking a COD can’t have been easy today: it’s a very consistent puzzle with a surfeit of candidates.

  3. Cornick said

    After yesterday’s journey into the exotic cocktail that was Rorschach, it was extremely good to taste the fine claret of Nestor today. I’ve had a frenetic couple of days at work and this made for a more than satisfying return what passes for sanity in the Cornick household. LOI 14d, another cracking clue and everything highly gruntling. Now where’s that corkscrew?

  4. Marco said

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you may
    be a great author. I will make certain to bookmark
    your blog and will often come back later on. I want to encourage one to continue your great
    job, have a nice evening!

Comments are closed.

