i Cryptic Crossword 1946 Rorschach

May 4, 2017

What with today’s council elections, and 14/12, I thought there might have been some sort of theme brewing, but it appears not. What we did have was an extremely inventive, very enjoyable puzzle, a little on the tricky side perhaps. Quite a few I didn’t understand when solving, 1ac and 11ac chief amongst them, but everything’s cleared up in the blog and comments over on the other side. Last to fall was the SW corner, primarily because of 18ac where it took an absolute age and all the crossing letters for the penny to finally drop.

COD? Lots to pick from, with 4/25 the standout for me – ‘Periodically it appears on the right in The King’s Speech? (5,3)’.

To December 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/12/03/independent-8155-by-rorschach/

If you’re still hungry for more, some chap called Maize has got a puzzle in today’s Independent. Enjoy. 🙂

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1946 Rorschach”

  1. dtw42 said

    Hmm. Well, I quite enjoyed seeing the pop-culture references. Most of it was quite fun, if challenging. Put in 6dn without really understanding it. Came unstuck at the end with 1ac and 11ac though, which I really couldn’t see. Having read the fifteensquared blog now, I can’t say I’m particularly happy with the device used in 1ac. Hey (as I so often say) ho.

  2. AndyT said

    Well, that was jolly “libertarian”, wasn’t it? Cheeky too. I enjoyed myself, despite having plenty of quibbles, but 1ac didn’t really satisfy me either. Anyway, variety is supposed to be the spice of life, and this was pretty peppery.

  3. Well… total failure. In my hour I managed eight answers (and one of those was wrong! Elvis for levis.)

    • AndyT said

      My first run-through produced distinctly unimpressive results. It was definitely one of those crosswords which requires some retuning to get onto the setter’s wavelength: the oddest in quite a while.

      My thanks to friend Cornick, aka Maize, for another splendid puzzle in yesterday’s Independent. Sterling work once again, which received a lot of well-deserved praise from the Fifteensquared commentariat. Looking forward to the next one.

      • Cornick said

        Thank you Andy. It takes me an age to produce one of these puzzles, but it’s a splendid way to pass the time. I recommend it!

Comments are closed.

