i Cryptic Crossword 1945 Dac

May 3, 2017

What can you say? It’s a Wednesday, it’s Dac, and he’s on as good form as ever. This took me a little longer than par, but then again I didn’t get a clear run at it so it’s difficult to say. The NW corner was the last to fall, with too many Chinese families to choose from, and a new word (for me at least) at 9ac. One I couldn’t parse at 22d, the card game in question being somewhere near the bottom of ones I would have thought of.

COD? 18ac for me – ‘Careless Whisper – popular record with unusual intro, at first enthusiastically received (12)’.

To the darker days of December 2012 for our Independent reprint:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/12/11/independent-8162-dac/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1945 Dac”

  1. sprouthater said

    Seemed a bit harder than usual but I’m not complaining. Couldn’t parse 22d either, I knew the card game but couldn’t see where the “O” came from and spent too long on 8d thinking it can’t be that simple but it was!

  2. AndyT said

    Very much as above. “Player” isn’t really the word I’d associate with 22d: it’s more suggestive of the stage than the screen to me. Never mind, well up to the usual standard, and I particularly liked 25ac.

  3. dtw42 said

    22dn was second-to-last in for me too (similar reasons), followed by 24ac (which I couldn’t parse properly). The rest of it was – as you say – a little tricky in places but all fine 🙂

  4. Cornick said

    Yes, I did this in two goes, with the NW & SE corners left until I got home.
    Okay on the ones already mentioned, my undoing was the unfamiliar answer in 17d. I worked out one half of the parsing, then the other, but failed to put them together. Bit thick, that…

Comments are closed.

