i Cryptic Crossword 1944 Crosophile

May 2, 2017

Nothing especially taxing today, but it’s a nice puzzle from Crosophile with an unobtrusive theme. Quite a mixture of clues ranging from sitting ducks to some fairly knotty ones, and the standard of the surface readings is conspicuously good. Thoroughly enjoyable, all told.

True to form the theme slipped past me like a burglar in a dark cave: on the off chance that anyone else was similarly blindsided all was revealed in the Fifteensquared blog post back in December 2012. A fair few ticks today, with the clue of the day going to 12ac:

“Diagnosis when a man is confused about experience most lately (7)”

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1944 Crosophile”

  1. jonofwales said

    Yet again I cry theme, what theme? Despite looking, quite hard, when I got a little stuck three quarters of the way through. I’ve read the book several times, and seen the films, so I’ve got no excuse.

    Enjoyable anyway with, as you say, a nice mix of straightforward and harder clues, overall perhaps on the easier side for the i. Last in 18d and 29ac.

  2. dtw42 said

    Missed theme here too. LOI for me was 23dn. Same overall opinion as above 🙂

  3. Cornick said

    Crosophile has blown rather hot and cold in the past, but this was consistently top-drawer stuff from start to finish.
    If Nimrod is a 10 for difficulty, then this was only a 3, perhaps, but what of that? The surfaces were brilliant and it was just what I felt like today.
    Wish I’d spotted the theme/ Nina – extra kudos.
    Let’s hope this bodes well for future Crosophile puzzles.

  4. sprouthater said

    Missed the theme but then I wasn’t looking for one and it didn’t spoil a thoroughly good puzzle. LOI 29a which I thought quite a strange clue seemed all cryptic and nothing to indicate a synonym for the answer.

    • Cornick said

      I took it as an &Lit, with the whole thing representing the synonym for the answer.

    • AndyT said

      I took the same view as Cornick eventually, but agree that it’s a peculiar clue.

Comments are closed.

