i Cryptic Crossword 1943 Quixote

May 1, 2017

A gentle start to the week from the Don. In common with Flashling back in the day I couldn’t parse 3d, despite also having a background in mathematics… First in 11ac, last in 17d, with a little hiccup along the way where I carelessly ended 25ac with an errant R.

COD? 22d – ‘River features repeatedly in battle (4)’.

As you may have guessed from 7d, this is a reprint from December 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/12/10/independent-no-8161-by-quixote/

Have a good Bank Holiday. The grass is wet, so it can’t be cut. 🙂

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1943 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    I couldn’t parse 3d either, embarrassingly. For some reason that particular convention was discouraged in my school and => “this implies” preferred, but it’s no excuse.

    My delight at the prospect of a jumbo crossword was tempered when it turned out to be of the general knowledge variety, and thoroughly dampened upon reading the first clue. I may attempt it later, when I get fed up with staring blankly at the Inquisitor.

  2. sprouthater said

    Same here with 3d🙂

Comments are closed.

